Micropoetry of the Week

Standard

typewriter-1603999_640

1.

After the fight
I heard you while you
thought I was sleeping.
The next morning, I saw
the broken bottle,
overturned chair,
the end of our romance.

2.

It’s hard to write
why I love you.
I can say you are
handsome
smart
funny
my soulmate.

But you are so much
more than clichés.

3.

In the silence
and boldness
provided by dark,
we still learn about
our bodies & its
eternal language.

4.

Sometimes
it must get worse,
than better.
It was a lesson
from baking soda
when momma would coat
a canker sore to wellness.

5.

If they were walls
they would have listened
to our sleep volume voices
murmur newlywed vows,
watched our body language of love.

6.

I don’t know when
I began to spread
my golden wings,
or if I ever
soared at all.
I just know that I
came a long way
from crawling

7.

It used to scare me
Once,
because you can’t be
adult & lost.
I’m still not so sure
about tomorrow,
but that’s expected
nowadays.

8.

I found her with the phone
in her hand while losing color
in her face.
“What’s the matter?”

She answered
& I suffered too.

9.

A bottle of wine between us
loosened his tongue,
my mind.
He was older, so had more
answers to questions
that once didn’t exist.
So, I listened.

10.

I don’t know what to tell you
when you talk about
being a “ride or die”
& I’ve already told you
“maybe”
“I don’t know…”
then finally
“this is not gonna work.”

Leave a Reply

